I watched The Lord of the Rings movies this past weekend. I have never been so affected by a movie. It’s insane. I read the books a couple years back, and enjoyed them, but seeing them on screen (and in a much shorter period of time) moved me so much more – I have never cried so much during a movie as I did while watching those!

From the first movie, this is what meant the most to me.

_____________

Frodo: I wish the ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened.

Gandalf: So do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us. There are other forces at work in this world Frodo, besides the will of evil. Bilbo was meant to find the Ring. In which case, you were also meant to have it. And that is an encouraging thought.

_____________

It is so true. “All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

I hope when I have “passed from the world to the white shores of the next”, I can look back and see a life to be satisfied with. It becomes so hard, when you look at it with that sort of perspective. So difficult to remain on course. We are all fighting a battle. Part of it is the same battle that Gollum fought. Fighting against yourself – our flesh, our desire to do wrong (or just not do right!). “For the good that I want, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want.”

Of course there is the bigger battle, the ultimate battle of good vs evil, but sometimes that seems so much larger than any of us…

But who thinks of things like this when there is school to get done? *sighs*.

Until later,

lindy

