(…sorry this is so long…)

A mosaic of clouds blanketed the stars from our view for the first hour of this chilly night, but the moon peeked out through the cracks as a tantalizing appetizer. Then, a half hour before we left, it was like God rolled up the carpet of Heaven, and let us get a glimpse at his awesome handiwork.

I was listening to a song today, by Shawn McDonald, called “Beautiful”. I wish I had thought of it when we were sitting, huddled happily around the campfire two hours ago, but it still whispers something to me now:

As I look into the stars
Pondering how far away they are
How You hold them in Your hands
And still You know this man
You know my inner most being, oh
Even better than I know, than I know myself

What a beautiful God
What a beautiful God
And what am I, that I might be called Your child
What am I, what am I
That You might know me, my King
What am I, what am I, what am I

As I look off into the distance
Watching the sun roll on by
Beautiful colors all around me, oh
Painted all over the sky
The same hands that created all of this
They created you and I

What a beautiful God
What a beautiful God
And what am I, that I might be called Your child
What am I, what am I
That You might know me, my King
What am I, what am I
That You might die, that I might live
What am I

——–

Isn’t that just…well…sorry, beautiful?

But if you’re wondering what the title of this blog means, it’s about the devotion that Joey (a college student, and my best friend’s older brother) gave after we sang worship songs. To sum it up, it was about the verse that says “‘I know your works, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were cold or hot.” Saying that God would rather us be spiritually cold than lukewarm. Which makes a lot of sense really – those who are cold are not misrepresenting God – they are scorning Him, but not claiming to believe in Him and then reflecting poorly on His name.

So he challenged us, saying (basically) “It’s not about what you’re NOT doing, it’s about what you’re doing. So you may not drink, cuss, sleep around – sure those are things we aren’t supposed to be doing, but what are you doing for God? Are you seeking Him? Are you growing? Witnessing? Serving?”

He also gave a story about a stranger finding a beautiful jungle garden, and, awed by it’s beauty, knocks on the door of the house in the center of the garden. A servant answers and says that the owner of the garden is not here. The servant says “I am tending to the garden while he is away.”

Joey finished that illustration saying, “How does your garden look?”

I for one know that I’ve been holding back. Clinging to the things that I hold dear – entertainment…laziness…lack of self-control…disobedience. I’ve been trapped in the easily deceiving “Well everyone else does it” philosophy.

I want to surrender FULLY to God.

No matter the cost.

Because it does cost…

But I just know it’s worth it.

lindy

