Each year, my Christmas spirit is bigger than my eventual Christmas music tolerance level. It’s never that I get sick of Christmas, I just get sick of the small selection of songs that each artist tries to spin a new *flava* on. Sorry. I’m so white. I should not have attempted that, haha.

But each year it’s the same story: November rolls around, and I excitedly listen to as much Christmas music as possible, each with the same jingle bells in them (the only requirement to make something a Christmas song is that they have those bells in them), each with a large orchestral arrangement, each with a large portion of Christmas imagery (in the same words…*white Christmas*, *frosty windows*, *glowing candles*, you get it…). Eventually at all sounds exactly the same. And if I hear one more version of a female crooner squeaking out Santa Baby, I will throw my stereo out in the snow.

There are a few songs that I can listen to over and over. The only new songs I could listen to again and again are All I Want for Christmas is You by Mariah Carey, and You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch by GoFish. Love that. (and Jump5’s Christmas album…ahh I still love it. haha)

All the old songs I like are on a record (YES, a RECORD, from 1969) that my dad got at – get this – Kentucky Fried Chicken. I know, right? It’s called Christmas with Colonel Sanders. Here is the selection:

Side 1:

OUT OF THE EAST
Charley Pride

SLEIGH RIDE
Arthur Fiedler/Boston Pops

HAVE YOURSELF A MERRY LITTLE CHRISTMAS
John Gary

GOOD KING WENCESLAS
Morton Gould/RCA Symphony Orchestra

O HOLY NIGHT
Kate Smith

MARY’S LITTLE BOY CHILD
Harry Belafonte

Side 2:

JINGLE BELL ROCK
Chet Atkins

MERRY CHRISTMAS NEIGHBOR
Lorne Greene

MY FAVORITE THINGS
Peter Nero

THE FIRST NOEL
Sergio Franchi

I’LL BE HOME FOR CHRISTMAS
Lana Cantrell

CAROL FOR ANOTHER CHRISTMAS
Henry Mancini and His Orchestra

(Prepared especially for Kentucky Fried Chicken Corporation by RCA Records)

It doesn’t get any better than that. When we listen to it while putting up the tree, I’ll get back into the Christmas spirit. But right now, I’m feeling a bit like a Scrooge.

lindy

