Today I did something I would have told you a few years ago that I would NEVER. EVER. Do in my ENTIRE life.

I swore.

I mean literally cussed because something went wrong…and in presence of my friends. Oh no no no no no….to make matters worse, pastor preached this morning on having a good testimony. Fail fail fail fail… I’m giving this some thought. And I’m going to show the process of how it happened.

1. I watched/listened to media that used obscenities

2. I became desensitized to the profanity

3. I forgot why it was wrong

4. I began to *think* it, and then rationalize why that was alright

5. I began to let it slip out when I knew I was alone and no one would hear it

6. I accidentally said it

Oh such simple, simple acts…I’ve noticed this slow backslide in many areas of my life. One in particular (shockingly not this one!) smacked me in the face this morning, and with God’s help (and your prayers?) I’m going to start climbing UP the slippery slope. Oh dear.

Ephesians 4:29 “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” First Peter 3:10 declares, “For, whoever would love life and see good days must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech.” James 3:9-12 summarizes the issue: “With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers, this should not be. Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring? My brothers, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water.”

Just to prove to you (and myself, actually) that the Bible DOES have something to say on this.

Side note: Savior auditions were today…I’m kinda nervous about if I’ll get a part. Sigh.

‘nother side note. Ok, just going to vent for a second. Just a second. Why do people think it’s ok to be mean to someone and then call it teasing?! I’m not talking about the regular teasing among friends, I’m talking about “I-would-never-be-saying-this-if-everyone-weren’t-laughing” junk. Enough is enough. I don’t care if people act like it doesn’t bother them. Sooner or later you’re going to touch a nerve – you’ll never know, but it’ll hurt them. Do you really want to live with that? (*side note on the side note…I really hate myself when I don’t stick up for the people being teased*)



UGH!

Sigh. I’m done now.

…lindy

