Ahhh the joys of being a backrow Baptist. Religion in general probably shouldn’t be spoken about in one’s blog, as to avoid offending people and to be politically correct.

Shall we carry on then?

Baptists are a different breed. Don’t get me wrong, I love being one – really, I do…but we are quite strange. We talk in codes of “fellowship halls” and “seeker-friendly services”, and spend hours debating Calvinism vs. Armenianism. We gasp in horror at outlandish practice of “speaking in tongues”, and cringe whenever someone lifts their hands while singing “praise and worship choruses”. It’s all pretty funny when you think about it. When it comes down to it, all that matters is knowing, loving, and glorifying God. Why do we have to complicate it?

It kills to know how many people make it a religion – who claim to know God, who go to church every Sunday…and then act blatently against what they claim to believe. We wonder why the world doesn’t believe us when we say “Jesus saves”. We’re supposed to be known for our love, and instead we’re known for being hypocrites – why would anyone be interested in ‘what we have to offer’ when there’s nothing different about us?

I’m not saying that true Christians are perfect. I’m saying that God has changed the true Christian to be more like Him – that He gives us His love to show other people the way to everlasting life. If you’re a Christian, you’re activley fighting against the sin in your life so that you’ll have a good testimony to the world; or another way to say it is ‘to be more Christ-like’.

This is all disjointed and random…I’m too tired to make it make sense. But this is Palm Sunday…and I can’t do BEDA without including in it the most important thing in my life. An athiest once said “how much do you have to hate someone to NOT proselitize?”. Ever since I heard that I’ve wanted to reach out more than I do. If I truly belive what I do – that you will go to hell if you don’t reach out and take God’s gift of eternal life – than it would be spiteful and horrible of me not to say anything ab0ut it!

I’m not forcing you to think one way or another, it’s your choice to do what you want with this information. But I would challenge you to THINK about it objectively, if only for a minute.

That’s all. I’m going to go take a nap.

…lindy

*I DO dance. Just for the record =P

