I had a MySpace ages ago. I deleted it quickly, I had no use for it. But recently I discovered that you could make playlists of songs on MySpace…and I’m hooked. I forgot how much I love discovering new music.

I’m reading The Other Side of the Sun by Madeline L’Engle, and it’s such a heavy read. I love it, but I get frustrated not understanding everything. I’m used to reading books that explain themselves to the average reader. Madeline L’Engle assumes that her readers are intelligent and have fabulous memories that remember detailed plots and characters. The seemingly insignificant facts are always important. Each sentence holds a secret. It’s wonderful and horribly annoying. I’m used to having it all spelled out for me. It’s good for analytical reading, but…it’s hard when I’m just reading it for fun. I have enough to read for assignments as it is…ah well. No going back now. There’s hardly a time when I can just abandon a book after begininng it.

There’s such a strong aura surrounding her books, too. Her style is so…unequivocal. (I googled for that word. Not that I didn’t know it…I just wouldn’t have landed on it, hah.) There’s a warm feeling to her words, a warm surrounded by cold – like being warm in a sleeping-bag while camping on a cold night. You know there’s potential dangers outside, but inside the (flimsy and fragile) tent you’re surrounded by friends or family, and warm in a big huddle.

Many of her books deal with the struggle between good and evil, and I always get that sleeping-bag feeling when reading. Her books just have the comfort of the tangy smell of a tent. You know what I’m talking about.

By the way, ‘sleeping-bag’ is a creative title. Someone worked hard on that idea.

HAHA! I just sat sat down really hard after fixing my hair, and the black leather pillow on my bed POPPED, and stuffing went flying! Funniest thing ever.

Anyway, I feel that Madeline L’Engle is wise (whether or not it’s true, I’ll have to wait until I myself am wise – hopefully that day will come, HAH), and she just touched on something in her book that I want to explore – she attacked the value of innocence. I’m not sure if she’s going to correct this stance, if it’s just a journey she wants us to take with the character, but it took me aback.

One of her character’s stances (a built up, wise-sounding character) is that she needs to put off her innocent preconceptions of the world in order to be a help-meet to her husband. She needs to accept that the world is evil, and that there will always be evil fighting good, and we should be…wise (sorry about the repeated use of that word!) about how we combat it.

I don’t think I’m explaining myself fully…but I need to get on with my day.

AH! Why are there suddenly so many things to talk about?!

…lindy

(*Swim for the music that saves you when you’re not so sure you’ll survive*)

