Still trying to find my writing “voice”.

I feel like I’m still the young writer who simply copies the voices of the authors I respect. I don’t want to be stuck in that. I want to have my own style and stick to it…but I’m not exactly sure of how to develop it.

I’m reading this book by Phillip Yancey, Finding God in Unexpected Places. I’m really enjoying it. There was this quote that HE quoted from The Ghost Writer:

“I turn sentences around. That’s my life. I write a sentence and then turn it around. Then I look at it and I turn it around again. Then I have lunch. Then I come back in and write another sentence. Then I have tea and turn the new sentence around. Then I read the two sentences over and turn them both around. Then I lie down on my sofa and think. Then I get up and throw them out and start from the beginning.”

I like that a lot. That sounds a lot like the few experiences with writing that I’ve had. You write something, you study it, you rearrange, you search for the thesaurus for a more specific word…and start over.

I was telling Audra the other day that I loved how writing is so…forgiving. There is no limit to how many times you can change a sentence around, or how many times you change your main character’s first name, or if you decide to make it a fantasy novel instead of non-fiction….no one is judging you! It’s your own words, and you can take your own sweet time making it as perfect as you want, making it communicate exactly what you mean.


I love writing. I really do. I just don’t seem to get around to it very often anymore. And that’s a pity.

Do you guys know what your passion is? What you were made for, what gives you fulfillment, what would drive you to get out of bed every morning? What God made you for? Sometimes I feel like I’m just drifting…there are so many things I want to try, want to do. I want to stick my toe in the water of a hundred different desires. I want to live a life of adventure, want to follow God’s every whisper.

Where to begin, though…

