I just finished the wonderful book Holes. It’s a fabulous book that combines history, mystery, and modern coming-of-age themes. I read it years ago, but coming back to it now (after picking it up for $0.50 at Goodwill) meant that…well, frankly, I understood it better. It’s a bit complicated. I love how all of the plot lines converge at the very end on “God’s Thumb”. The writing style is a bit choppy, but it’s a fast and fun read. I’m still trying to figure out the symbolism with the wolf and woodpecker poems that I’ve copied at the bottom of this post, however. Let me know what you think if you read the book!

To summarize, it’s a book about a boy, Stanley, whose family has had bad luck for years. One day Stanley is falsely accused of stealing a famous baseball player’s shoes. When he is in court, he is given the choice of going to Camp Green Lake, or serving time in prison. He’s never been to camp before. Upon arriving, he’s told that he has to dig a 5’x5′ hole everyday because digging holes “builds character”. Ultimately, destiny allows him to repay the debt of his “no good dirty rotten pig stealing great great grandfather”.

“”If only, If only,” the woodpecker sighs,
“The bark on the tree was just a little bit softer.”
While the wolf waits below, hungry and lonely,
He cries to the moo–oo–oon,”
“If only, if only””

“If only, if only, the moon speaks no reply;
Reflecting the sun and all that’s gone by.
Be strong my weary wolf, turn around boldly.
Fly high, my baby bird,
My angel, my only.”

…lindy

