James 1:2-4

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

This year has been crazy.

And by year I don’t mean since last February. I mean SINCE JANUARY FIRST. I have had some of the highest and lowest moments of my life in these past two months.

Highlights:

-Several big steps forward in my relationship with Jesus-
-Going to Haiti-
-Singing If You Want Me To
-Getting excited about River of Life, and going to River of Life-
-My new ipod-
-Wonderful new tea-
-Wonderful new coffee-
-The new season of LOST-
-My 19th birthday-
-…more I can’t think of-

Lowlights:

-The realization that I’m not nearly as close to God as I would like to be-
-Leaving and missing Haiti, the earthquake in Haiti-
-Turning down the offer to work at ROLF-
-Lack of income-
-Kaylin being hospitalized-

The last one has without any doubt been the hardest. My little sister had been worryingly sick for a week when I got the call at AWANA that my parents had taken her to Children’s Mercy to be treated for dehydration. I can’t tell you how horrible it is to see a sibling, a nine year old no less, suffer. I’ll spare you the horrid details, but there was one moment where I had to leave, lock myself in the bathroom and sob, pleading with God to heal her.

It was the worst week of my life.

But now it’s better. She is happy, she’s healthy, she’s home, and she’s already starting to be hyper. Hah. Too many h’s? Sorry. It’s such a relief. Praise God she’s better. Thank you all SO SO much for your prayers.

I’m looking forward to the rest of this year. If it continues to be as crazy and stretching as it has been so far, I think I’ll learn a lot.

…lindy

