Home.

I love home so much.

I love my family, though it’s been reduced to just Mom, Dad and Kaylin at home. I love my bed, my room, my laptop, my moon chair, my dolphin and seal stuffed animals. :P

My family is adorable and got me the greatest welcome home present ever — food. Pizza and chips with pineapple peach salsa. I have the best family. :)

Whenever I get home from Del-Haven I de-stress by unpacking, starting the laundry, taking a LONG shower (a luxury I cant afford at D-H), and blow-drying/straightening my hair (something else I can’t do there). I’ve found that, despite my protests that I like change and am unpredictable; I love routines. I even make little rules for myself, like, I can’t get on the computer until I’ve done all the things I mentioned. Oh, also, I eat. I eat a LOT when I get home. Unfortunately I’m a stress-eater.

This week at Del-Haven was like the good parts of the first week and the bad parts of the second week combined. So…I don’t even know what to say about it. I enjoyed it, but there were a few girls that I just sort of wanted to smack. Thank goodness God gave me patience, though, and I only yelled at a girl once (I would tell you about it, but really it’s an uninteresting story).

The funniest thing that happened this week was when a girl from the inner-city went fishing for the first time. She caught a fish, and got it in her paddleboat, but thought that it had flopped out. Three minutes later she shifted around in her seat and found it under her butt. Sheri tells me that both of the girls almost fell out of the paddleboat, they were freaking out so much. You should have heard the girl, Makayla, tell the story though…she told it about five times, and all of the girls almost died laughing about it every time. :)

So many of those girls have horrible home situations. On the first day, Sheri (the head counselor) talked about how her Dad left when she was only 8. Soon after that she was invited to church, and she heard that God could be her perfect heavenly father. I love Sheri, she’s not afraid to be emotional — while she was telling this story she teared up, talking about how much it meant to her that she had a Father who would never leave her, and always love her unconditionally. After that lesson, two of the girls stayed in the chapel, crying. Sheri talked to one, and I just sat with the other, while this 11 year old, tough, inner-city girl cried next to me.

This impacted me so much this week for two reasons. First, before I left…I got in a bit of a disagreement with my dad. It wasn’t big, I was just super frustrated with him. The last words we traded weren’t spiteful, but they weren’t exactly loving. I regretted that so much when I realized how amazing I have it — two loving parents, still together, who love me and care about what I do with my life. It’s rare. I forget how rare it is. Also…I realize that my Dad isn’t perfect, and I can’t expect him to be. I do, however, have a Heavenly Father who is perfect, and will more than make up for anything my Dad may do wrong.

I could ramble on and on, I’m in a “reflective mood”, haha, but I’ll leave it there for now.

Matthew 6:25-34

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? 28And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, 29yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. 33But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.34 “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

…lindy

