So, yeah, BEDA was kind of a fail due to the somewhat unexpected Michigan trip I took. I’ll try to finish out the month updating every day, however!

Michigan was a trip that grew me. Stretched me. It was a hard thing, and I survived.

I’m not saying that it was awful or anything. I’m just stating that it wasn’t all butterflies and roses. Some of the challenges I expected — musically it put me out of my comfort zone, and I knew that was coming. But what I didn’t expect was how out-of-my-comfort-zone the social aspects of Maranatha were. Normally I don’t have too hard of a time making new friends. I mean, sure, there’s the awkward stage where you try to find something in common with the person, but once you connect about something, it’s not hard…right? But there, in Maranatha, where the staff had already spent seven weeks together, and were growing tired of their specific tasks…it was a little rough in the beginning. The only person I knew, Josh, wasn’t allowed back in the girl’s dorm (obviously…) and since I didn’t have a phone, there was no way to communicate with him. So I was stuck in that barren land of “do I try to involve myself in this group of girls that is already really well established in their routine, or would they rather me stay away…?”. The last thing I wanted to be was clingy. But…then again…I didn’t want it to seem like I was pushing everyone away, either.

To make a long story short (TOO LATE) I was quiet a lot of the week. It wasn’t that they didn’t include me (everyone was so sweet, it wasn’t that at all!) and it wasn’t that I didn’t eventually feel comfortable…I just didn’t feel like talking. There are only a few times when I feel like I opened up. It’s k, though. It was still really fun.

I’ll share more stories tomorrow, perhaps, but it’s almost the end of the 16th, and I want to get this “published” before it’s no longer valid as my 16th BEDA! So, I’ll sum up with the senses.

Today, I saw: Kaylin for the first time since I got home. She woke me up early this morning, but for once I didn’t mind. I can’t believe how much she’s growing up.

Today, I heard: Crickets, right outside my window. I love that sound. It’s the epitome of summer, don’t you think?

Today, I touched: My computer for the first time in a week and a half. It’s kind of pathetic how happy that made me. Also, the sand that was trapped in my suitcase. I was sweeping it off my bed all day.

Today, I smelled: The last lingering scent of Lebanon on my pillowcase and clothes. It’s very strong. I don’t know what it is — maybe just a “new building” smell. But I like it.

Today, I tasted: Wayyyyy too much junk food. It’s kind of disgusting how many sweets I had…but…what can I say. End of a trip. Comfort food. It happens.

Until tomorrow.

…lindy

