…to be better than the day before.

Yesterday I tried to explain to the new guy, Tom, what it is that I…do. I began to tell him that I wasn’t in college, and then I just sort of stopped trying. It’s too hard to explain without babbling on about how I actually am busy, and am doing constructive things with my time. Why should I care what the new guy thinks of me? If he wishes to assume I’m “a woman of leisure”, so be it.

I’m sure you’re as tired of hearing things like that as I am of telling them, so let’s move on.

Today I read John 21, and was really curious about the whole “If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you?”. For some reason I hadn’t even remembered that conversation existed, and the child in me was giddy upon reading it. Sure, that doesn’t necessarily mean at all that John is still alive…but just the fact that Jesus said that…made me happy. A little part of me still longs for the fairy tales and fantasy world of Narnia or Harry Potter. I still love the idea of inexplicable things and worlds and magic.

Oh, also, the end of John is so wonderful: “25 Now there are also many other things that Jesus did. Were every one of them to be written, I suppose that the world itself could not contain the books that would be written.” Isn’t it so easy to think we know everything Jesus did? But no, the amazing things he accomplished on Earth could never be exhaustively recorded.

Could we with ink the ocean fill,
And were the skies of parchment made,
Were every stalk on earth a quill,
And every man a scribe by trade,
To write the love of God above,
Would drain the ocean dry.
Nor could the scroll contain the whole,
Though stretched from sky to sky.

In about 20 minutes I’m headed off to Burke for the first day of Good News Club. I’m trying to remind myself of all the times I’ve dreaded something and then enjoyed it, but it’s not helping a whole lot. I know I’m apt to exaggerate my problems in my head, but still it doesn’t change my attitude. In fact, a lot of the things I’m doing have begun to lose their…shine. I hope it doesn’t stay like this. Hopefully I’m just going through an enthusiasm dry patch, and things will change soon.

Well, I have no way of wrapping this up, only that I have to go. Until next time, keep each other safe, keep faith, goodnight. ;)

